Send an email to your local reps in Albany and advocate for ARCS!

It’s time to make your voice heard and tell Albany not to balance the budget on the backs of those with HIV! The state Senate and Assembly are drafting the 2010-11 budget this month, and they need to hear from YOU. We’ve created a short letter for you to copy and mail, or click on the handy links to send an email to your representative in the Assembly or Senate.

Copy and paste this letter to mail your Senator. Don’t know your Senator or their address? Visit this page to search by zip code.

Dear Senator:

As New York State finalizes its 2010/11 budget, I am writing to urge you to advocate with Senate Leadership to restore funding for the Community Service Providers (CSPs) and Multi-Service Agencies (MSAs) that provide HIV/AIDS services across the entire state. Funding levels must be restored to the enacted budget levels for 2009/10, prior to the Deficit Reduction Plan cuts and prior to the additional cuts proposed by the Governor.

The stability of AIDS-Related Community Services, the CSP serving the Hudson Valley, has been seriously undermined. These cuts to its basic infrastructure threaten its ability to continue to provide services to the thousands of people living with HIV/AIDS across NYS. ARCS’ state funding has been cut over 30 percent in the past two years and they have had to dismantle many critical programs with proven records of success at caring for those with HIV and preventing the spread of HIV. Clearly, ARCS and the people living with HIV/AIDS have had to bear a disproportionate share of the state’s budget cuts.

When you are involved in budget discussions this month, please fight to restore CSP/MSA funding to ‘09/’10 enacted budget levels and to prevent further cuts to HIV/AIDS services. Thank you for your time and consideration.

To send an email, click on the links below:

Andrea Stewart-Cousins

scousins@senate.state.ny.us

Ruth Hassell-Thompson

hassellt@senate.state.ny.us

Suzi Oppenheimer

oppenhei@senate.state.ny.us

Thomas Morahan

morahan@senate.state.ny.us

William J. Larkin, Jr.

larkin@senate.state.ny.us

Vincent Leibell

leibell@senate.state.ny.us

Stephen Saland

saland@senate.state.ny.us

John J. Bonacic

bonacic@senate.state.ny.us

Copy and paste this letter to mail your Assemblymember. Don’t know your Assemblymember or their address? Visit this page to search by zip code.

Dear Assemblymember:

As New York State finalizes its 2010/11 budget, I am writing to urge you to advocate with Assembly leaders to restore funding for the Community Service Providers (CSPs) and Multi-Service Agencies (MSAs) that provide HIV/AIDS services across the entire state. Funding levels must be restored to the enacted budget levels for 2009/10, prior to the Deficit Reduction Plan cuts and prior to the additional cuts proposed by the Governor.

The stability of AIDS-Related Community Services, the CSP serving the Hudson Valley, has been seriously undermined. These cuts to its basic infrastructure threaten its ability to continue to provide services to the thousands of people living with HIV/AIDS across NYS. ARCS’ state funding has been cut over 30 percent in the past two years and they have had to dismantle many critical programs with proven records of success at caring for those with HIV and preventing the spread of HIV. Clearly, ARCS and the people living with HIV/AIDS have had to bear a disproportionate share of the state’s budget cuts.

When you are involved in budget discussions this month, please fight to restore CSP/MSA funding to ‘09/’10 enacted budget levels and to prevent further cuts to HIV/AIDS services. Thank you for your time and consideration.

To send an email, click on the links below:

J. Gary Pretlow

pretloj@assembly.state.ny.us

Amy Paulin

paulina@assembly.state.ny.us

Robert J. Castelli

castellir@assembly.state.ny.us

Sandra Galef

galefs@assembly.state.ny.us

George Latimer

latimeg@assembly.state.ny.us

Richard Brodsky

brodskr@assembly.state.ny.us

Mike Spano

spanom@assembly.state.ny.us

Kenneth Zebrowski, Jr.

zebrowskik@assembly.state.ny.us

Ellen Jaffee

jaffeee@assembly.state.ny.us

Nancy Calhoun

calhoun@assembly.state.ny.us

Annie Rabbitt

rabbita@assembly.state.ny.us

Aileen Gunther

gunthea@assembly.state.ny.us

Greg Ball

ballg@assembly.state.ny.us

Frank Skartados

skartadosf@assembly.state.ny.us

Kevin Cahill

cahillk@assembly.state.ny.us

Joel Miller

millerj@assembly.state.ny.us

Marcus Molinaro

molinarom@assembly.state.ny.us

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply